Revision.

Greetings!

Revision. It has to be the second most annoying task a writer must do (that I’ve come across so far). It’s awful! Trying to stay with the general story, but improve it, keeping the characters as they are supposed to be and keeping those lovely lines of dialogue you adore is very, very difficult. I’m about to do chapter 3, and, as much as the new story actually reflects some form of a decent plot, I’m still having to drag myself to type it up. I must say, finally deciding on a title for my first book yesterday night (shouldn’t that just be called ‘Yesternight’? That would make it less words to type!) was very encouraging. If all goes well, it shall be 220 chapters, with an introduction, split into 20 sections, each with a nice title page. It’s going to be one big book. For self defense, you’ll be able to carry it around and use it as a club if someone tries to mug you. Currently, what I’m working on is the first 110 chapters and introduction, the majority of which I wrote last year. Each chapter is anywhere from 3 to 5 pages long on average (I’m trying to keep it at 5…not too long, not too short, plus, that way 220 chapters won’t end up being a couple million pages.) with the longer ones more like 7 to 10. The first 110 chapters (in their rough, rough, rough awfully choppy nasty first draft) came out to 448 pages, and the chapters weren’t at 5 pages each. There were tons of 1-2 page chapters, and then huge, long ones in the middle, and then a few more tiny ones. I didn’t like it too much. The story was a little slow, and they ignored the bad guy most of the time, instead romping off on horribly irrelevant adventures. Who wants to read that? In the revised version, the story will actually have a good plot. The evil person will actually be evil, and the main characters will actually be working against her in a generally heroic and adventurous manner, with their fellow champions and trusty mounts by their side. I’m very excited about the new plot, but it’s just the actual act of typing it that’s driving me insane.

Anyways, I am working on that, and finished the concept art for a character in a different story last night, which made me feel pretty good. I should really stop giving all the art to off projects and actually draw my main characters some time. The only pictures I have of them are like a year old and look terrible, appearing nothing like they look like. It’s rather dreadful really.

It’s raining outside, and I have work to do before visiting family arrives this evening, so I must bid you farewell. I’ll keep trying to post regularly, but spotty internet and not exactly set schedules make it difficult. The fact that I forget about my blog sometimes probably helps too.

Talk to you soon!

-Roo

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

