Geekproof: Chapter Four

Chapter Four

          Mike hid behind his menu, mind racing for what to do. Alex seemed strangely calm at their friends’ departure, looking at the menu with actual interest. Mike peered over the top of his, watching her for a moment before ducking down again.

“Uuuuuhhhh…” He said, trying desperately to find something to say. He cleared his throat, changing his mind about talking and shyly resuming hiding. Alex laughed softly.

“Why so nervous? It’s just dinner.” She said, setting her menu down. Mike looked around the side of his menu, but after seeing she was smiling, he set it down and smiled nervously at her.

“I…uh…hi?” He said, afterwards quickly darting his hand out to grab the menu and put up his shield again. Alex’s swiftly put her hand on top of his, stopping him from lifting it.

“Don’t be nervous. It’s ok.” She said, grinning encouragingly.

“I’m just…uh…not used to this kind of thing.” Mike admitted, biting his lower lip. Alex shrugged, messing with her hair with her left hand and leaning on her right.

“Eh…neither am I. Let’s get out of this restaurant…I’m not that hungry.” She suggested, standing up and pushing her chair back under the table. Mike eagerly got up, putting the money Leo had given him into his pocket, intending to give it back to him when he next saw him. He and Alex left the restaurant, quickly going outside and standing on the sidewalk, breathing in the cool night air.

“We could…like…uh…go get…coffee?” Mike suggested awkwardly. Alex nodded.

“That actually sounds great. There’s a coffee place not far from here, too.” She said, turning and walking down the sidewalk, with Mike following her.

They walked in silence for a while until they reached the coffee shop on the corner. They ordered their coffee, sitting at a tall table by the window and watching the people walk past outside. They sat there for a long time, drinking their coffee and struggling to think of things to say, but somehow managing to keep something resembling a conversation going. Late that evening, they both went home, tired and Mike still being too shy to talk to Alex.

 

The next day, when Mike came home, he was watching TV, tired from the long day of work. The phone rang, and he picked it up.

“Hello?” He said, yawning and leaning back onto the couch.

“Hey, you.” He heard Alex’s voice say. He could tell she was smiling, but still he felt nervous almost immediately.

“Uh. Hi.” Mike replied.

“Sorry about last night…that was a little awkward. I was wondering if you would want to, uh…try again?” Alex asked.

“What do you mean?”
“You know…like, try to go somewhere together.”

“What type of place are you thinking?”
“Well, not many people know, but my parents are actually quite wealthy. They’re holding a special dinner for my younger sister tomorrow night, and I would like you to come.” Alex explained. Mike was silent for a moment.

“You may not want me to come…I’m not exactly the least clumsy person around.” He said finally. Alex laughed quietly.

“Oh hush. I’m sure you’d be fine.”

“If you think so, I can come. What time do I need to be there?”

“I’ll come pick you up tomorrow evening around four o’clock, k?” Alex asked. Mike could hear the scratching sound of a pencil on paper in the background.

“Sounds fine.” He agreed.

“Oh, one last thing…wear something nice, all right? My parents are a bit…” Alex paused, trying to think of the right word, “Picky over that kind of thing.” She finally finished.

“Don’t worry, I will. See you at four?” Mike replied.

“See you at four.” Alex confirmed. Hanging up the phone, Mike leaned forward, burying his head in his hands. Leo entered the room, glancing at Mike and figuring out what had just happened.

“Alex ask you out again?” He asked, entering the kitchen and searching the fridge for food that didn’t require preperation.

“Yeeeeeessss.” Mike groaned. Leo laughed loudly, smiling broadly. Abandoning the food he was finding, he came over and sat on the couch next to Mike, patting his back a few times.

“Nervous?”
“Yeah…”
“Don’t be…Alex is a good girl, it’ll be fine.” Leo said, getting back up and going to the kitchen again.

“I suppose so. I’m just hoping I won’t mess something up.” Mike replied, trying his best to ignore the feeling that he was.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Greetings!

I apologize for it being a day late again =( I forgot…again…bleh -.- I really need to find a way to make sure I remember

NEXT WEEK THERE WILL BE NO GEEKPROOF! I’m taking it off because Marvel’s The Avengers is coming out and it’s awesome ^^ I will be picking up the story the week after, though.

I have several reviews of games and Marvel products in the works, and one of my game reviews should be posted this coming week, if I have time to write it up. I collected the screenshots for it the other day =D

Thanks for reading!

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

