RooView: Disney/Pixar’s Brave

Greetings!

Warning! The following review may have things that could be considered spoilers. I tried to not put any in, but I may have slipped up.
 

Disney/Pixar’s Brave was an interesting, beautifully done movie. Visually, it was probably one of my favorites that Pixar has done. From the first scene, the animation just blew me away. The scenery looked absolutely stunning, and so did the characters, from their hair to their clothing.

Merida stood out from the other Disney princesses (Yes, she is now counted as one). She didn’t want to be in love or any such traditions, and was willing to stand up for that. She fought for what she believed, and one of those things was controlling your own life (Or, in her words, “changing your fate”), whether tradition liked that path or not. The other characters, such as King Fergus, Queen Elinor, Merida’s identical triplet brothers, and the three Scottish clan leaders, had wonderfully different personalities. They were unique and beautifully crafted, bringing humor and interesting bits to the story.

Mor’du, the “demon” bear, was the main villain. Unlike many stories, he actually wasn’t as prominent as I expected him to be. When he was present, however, he was an excellent villain. Had he been a larger threat, he would have probably made the movie too frightening for younger children. He was perfectly ugly, with a nasty personality on top of it. I wish he had been there more, since he was so well done.

The story was good, and I enjoyed it greatly, but it felt incomplete, as if something was missing. I couldn’t exactly put my finger on what is missing, however. Apart from this, it was a very enjoyable, well-put together plot. It felt like it could have been longer and a bit more complex, but that would stop it from being a kid’s movie, now wouldn’t it? :] It got along very well without the usual element of romance that is in movies involving princesses, which was a lovely breath of fresh air.

The soundtrack was amazingly put together. It didn’t distract from the story, but instead added to it, just as it should. The bagpipes and other instruments gave it a distinctly Scottish feel, and I absolutely loved it. Luckily, the songs are already on Youtube, so I can listen to them anytime ^^ It melded into the film seamlessly, and I don’t think they could have done a better job with it.

Overall, Brave is a movie you won’t want to miss! Put together, the characters, story, and soundtrack make an enchanting film that makes you feel good to watch. Unlike many kid’s movies today, the characters were believable and excellent.

As with all Pixar movies, there was an unrelated short before the movie. It was called La Luna and was a very interesting. Many people enjoyed it, but I was one of those who didn’t particularly like it. While well done and animated in true Pixar fashion, I felt that it lacked the humor and whimsical story of their others. Partly Cloudy from Up still holds the spot of favorite Pixar short for me.

Talk to you soon!

-Roo

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

