Geekproof: Chapters Ten – Twelve: The end at last!

Greetings!

Yes, another note-before-post. I just wanted to inform you that Geekproof is, at last, over. Yay!

I may end up doing another weekly story, but it will A) Be a while, B) As I have previously said, a genre I’m familiar with, and C) have a few chapters pre-written to ensure that I actually like it before diving headlong into it.

Stupid decision is stupid.

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

____________________________________________________________________________

Chapters Ten – Twelve

 

          The day had come, and Mike was nervous as ever. He and Erica stood outside a hospital, preparing to go in. Swallowing the lump in his throat and hoping strongly that his idea would work, Mike strode in through the doors. Glancing around, he looked for a doctor’s coat not in use. Seeing someone set one down on a chair and walk away, he darted over, picking it up and putting it on while Erica was looking the other way. Beckoning her over, he began to lead her down the hall, walking proudly in his fake coat.

“Why does your nametag say ‘Doctor Barbara Johnson’?” Erica asked, pointing to Mike’s chest. Glancing down, Mike felt his face turning red, but coughed nervously.

“Oh, they always tease me and switch up the nametags… it’s just a joke.” He said quickly.

“Has anyone seen my coat?” They heard a woman’s voice call out, and Mike swiftly steered them the opposite way.

“I didn’t know you did your work here…I thought they sent people somewhere else for surgeries.” Erica mused, looking around and frowning. Someone tapped Mike on the shoulder before he could reply, and he turned around, only to find a woman dressed in doctor’s uniform, lacking the coat.

“Excuse me, have you see-…hey! Why’re you wearing my coat? Who are you?!” She asked, frowning and looking at Mike.

“I, uh, well, um, you see…I…er…” Mike stuttered, looking around in a panic.

“You aren’t a surgeon, are you?” Erica asked skeptically, glaring up at him.

“I, er, uh, no.” Mike admitted. The doctor scowled at him.

“Give me my coat back and get out of this hospital. Go!” She ordered.

“You can’t get away with lying like that!” Erica snapped at him as he removed the coat. Ducking his head, Mike turned, walking quickly towards the door, afraid and worried at what would happen with Alex when her family discovered they had been lying.

 

 

A week passed, including Leo and Heather’s wedding. Mike had been too nervous to talk to Alex after the hospital incident, and had kept to himself. Leo had moved out, leaving Mike alone in the apartment. One evening, after a long day at work, he stopped at his favorite coffee shop on the way home, sitting at a tall table by the window, drinking warm coffee and staring out the window. Feeling a hand on his shoulder, Mike looked behind him to see Alex standing there.

“Hey, mister. Is this seat taken?” She asked, walking over to the other chair.

“Not at all.” Mike said quietly.

“Where’d you go? Haven’t seen you in, like, a week.” Alex asked, sitting across the table from him and sipping her own drink.

“I figured you wouldn’t want to talk to me after I screwed everything up. Your family probably hates me now.” Mike explained, avoiding her eyes and staring at his drink.

“Nonsense. It was a stupid idea in the first place. Yeah, my family was pretty upset, but they’ve cooled down by now. Listen, I’m sorry for making you do that. It wasn’t right to say you were something you weren’t, and honestly, if you were a brain surgeon, you wouldn’t be the same person anyway. I’d rather have you just like you are. Can you forgive me for that mistake?” Alex inquired, tilting her head to one side and looking at him. He looked up at her, confused.

“You mean you don’t hate me?”
“No.”

“And you aren’t dumping me?”
“No.”

“And I don’t have to lie anymore?”

“No. That was a wrong choice by me anyway.”

“I’m sorry for screwing it up. Yes, I forgive you…how couldn’t I?” Mike said, smiling. Alex smiled back.

“Thank you. Well, I’m glad that’s fixed up.” Alex sighed.

“I should apologize to your family too…would it be safe going there to?” Mike asked. Alex nodded, yawning sleepily.

“Yeah…my family’s upset, but not that upset. You’ll live, trust me.” She assured him. Mike grinned.

“That’s good. I’ll come over tomorrow and clean this up entirely.” He said, leaning back in his chair.

 

 

The next morning, Mike drove to Alex’s house, as planned. Climbing out of his car, he went nervously to the front door, ringing the doorbell. Patrick, Alex’s father, opened the door, eyes widening when he realized who it was.

“Mike! What a surprise. What do you need?” He asked stiffly.

“I have something to say to you and your wife. Uh…can I speak with you for a moment?” Mike requested. Patrick nodded after a moment, leading him inside to a sitting room, where his wife was seated, knitting some strange object that vaguely resembled a glove. She scowled at Mike for a moment, obviously displeased at his presence there. Shuffling his feet nervously, Mike stared down at the floor. Clearing his throat, he prepared to speak. When he looked up, he saw Alex standing silently in the doorway.

“Well, um, I’m here to apologize. I shouldn’t have lied to you about being a brain surgeon. If you like me, it should be for who I am, not who I’m not. I entirely understand if you never want to see me again, I just wanted to apologize before I went.” Mike explained. Everyone was quiet for a moment, and Alex walked over to him, wrapping her arm around him.

“I’m also sorry…I shouldn’t have used the plan in the first place.” She said quietly. Her parents were silent for a few more moments, thinking about what had just been said. Her mother stood, setting aside her knitting and sighing.

“Thank you for apologizing. I forgive you. Most people wouldn’t admit their wrongdoing, and I appreciate that.” She said, smiling slightly.

“Same.” Patrick nodded. Mike smiled, looking down at Alex.

“The plan was foolproof, but I guess it wasn’t geek-proof.” He said, grinning broadly.

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

