Marvel is awesome

Greetings!!

I have a lot of work to do today, but I just decided to post real quick before I go :]

I’ve been meaning to post this since I wrote it. I forget if it was late April or early May this year, but I wrote a paper for school about the history of Marvel Comics ^^ I finally copied it into Microsoft Word today, so, here it is! (Warning: Some facts may be slightly off, since most of my info came from *ahem* Wikipedia and sites like that)

______________________________________________________

History of Marvel Comics

Marvel Comics’ history is an interesting tale. In October of 1939, Timely Comics, a division of Timely Publications, published Marvel Comics issue #1. The characters of this series of comics were the anti-hero Namor the Sub-Mariner, and the Human Torch. Unlike the Torch we all know today, this original form was actually an android! During this time, Stanley Lieber, better known as Stan Lee, joined.

In 1941, Stan Lee became comics editor for Timely Comics. In March of that same year, Steve Rogers, also known by the name Captain America was created. In the 1950’s, post-war superhero comics began to fall out of fashion. Timely Comics formed Atlas comics at this time. Around 1953 and 1954, Atlas struggled to revive superheroes, but sadly failed. To stay in business, Atlas diversified their market to other stories.

Marvel Comics was at last born in 1960. With it, many popular heroes were created, such as X-Men, the Incredible Hulk, Daredevil, Spider-Man, Ant-Man, and Thor. During the 1970’s, the market for superheroes once more took an unfortunate dip, again forcing Marvel to spread their publications to other comic fields. In the 1980’s, Marvel did well, but lost ground to their rival, DC comics, losing some Marvel stars. Marvel did well in the early 90’s, but they lost seven artists in 1992. The artists moved on to form Image Comics. This blow to Marvel nearly forced bankruptcy.

Marvel narrowly escaped bankruptcy in the early 2000’s, rebooting many hero storylines. They also created Ultimate Marvel, a series that would prove to be profitable. The X-Men movies, Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man trilogy, and many other successful films were made. On August 31st of ’09, Disney made a four billion dollar contract with Marvel Entertainment.

After the rough patch in the ’90’s, Marvel seems to be recovering quite well. Their fan base is ever growing, and the movies and comics released grow in quality nearly every time. Many fans hope that no more ill will occur to out dear comic company and it appears to be doing considerably better.

_______________________________________________________________

^^

Marvel is awesome. I’ve been a fan for as long as I can remember, but recently (a year or two, I think) I started to really get into it, reading more comics and finding more about their heroes. The more I read, the more of a fan I become. It’s amazing to learn about (at least for a geek like me), and I really hope Marvel continues for many, many, many more years.

As nerdy as it sounds, you can actually learn a lot from superheroes =P Captain America doesn’t give up. Ever. And he’s honorable. Those are pretty good things to do. Also, you can’t forget “With great power comes great responsibility.” That is an EXCELLENT thing to remember.

Of course, there are also things that they do that you DON’T want to do. Like Iron Man and Wolverine drinking like fish =P

They’re inspiring. And that is why I like them.

I’ll be writing another RooView later this week, so keep an eye out for that :]

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

I feel so goofy writing that “Superheroes are good role models” comment. But…I actually meant it, sooo…^^

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

