On the Subject of Life: Inspiration

Greetings!

I was going to name this post On the Subject of Writing, but then I realized that the contents could be applied to a lot more than just writing. So I went with the title that I have ^^

Firstly, with writing, you cannot, I repeat, cannot wait for the inspiration to come to you. If you did that, you’d never get any writing done. You have to seek it out, fight through the ‘writers’ bock’ and keep going until it hits you again. Yes, it’s hard. No, it isn’t easy. Yes, it’s not very fun. But yes, it is necessary. Recently, I had a very rough patch with writing my main book. I couldn’t do anything. It came out as horrible, choppy and short, with nothing I was happy with, but I kept going. Now, I’m starting to break through that barrier. My writing is slowly coming back to normal, and the flow of ideas has come back stronger than before. In other words, I found that inspiration I needed. I want to write again, instead of just having to. If I had stopped, I would be a very far way behind in my book progress. It would have set my goals back by several months. That isn’t good at all.

What I’m trying to say is that you need to seek out inspiration, instead of waiting for it to come to you. Naturally, there are things that help kickstart that inspiration flow, or give you inspiration every time without fail. This brings me to my next point.

What inspires you? What do you watch, read, listen to, or who do you talk to to become inspired when you need it? What makes you want to go write, draw, whatever? Is there something that you can go to whenever you’re low on inspiration or the will to work on things that makes you want to go succeed at life and being awesome? There definitely are quite a few for me.

While this post is a bit more serious than usual, I must warn you that since I’m being straightforward, there is some geekiness here. I’m being honest on what inspires me here :] No faking from me.

Superheroes, yes! That is correct. Superheros are the primary source of inspiration for me. I’m not sure why, and I’m not sure how, but they just do. If you look deep enough into their characters, you can find that they are a lot more than just comic characters and cartoons. More on that in a different post (maybe next week’s) though, since it strays away from the subject at hand.

Inspiration by movies. Ever since I first saw X-Men Origins: Wolverine, it has been a very helpful point. Yes, there are plot holes, breaks in continuity from the rest of the series, etc. But I don’t care. For some reason, regardless of those issues, it works for me. It makes me want to go write something epic, and seeing as how that’s what I’m looking for with inspiration, I count it as such. Thor, The Avengers, and Captain America are my top three, however. (Gladiator works pretty well too ^^) The Dark Knight Rises was pretty awesome. Yeah. ^^

Inspiration by music. I know of a lot of people who get inspired mainly by music. It’s a rather powerful thing, if you think about it. Personally, I get highly inspired by the music from Two Steps from Hell. They mostly do music for trailers and the like, but most of their stuff if epic music seen in action-filled, amazing movies. It’s just so amazing. My favorites are “Spirit of Champions” “Archangel” and “Strength of a Thousand Men”, though there are many, many more. Funnily enough, when I’m writing about a gladiator of mine, it doesn’t entirely work, though. It helps a little, but when I’m writing him, it helps to listen to Dragonforce and death metal. I don’t even like death metal that much! Well…maybe a bit :] Some songs are inspiring for certain scenes and such, but for the most part, TSfH helps with everything. All the things! Always!

Inspiration by art. Artists on DeviantArt make me want to improve my art, so it helps a lot to look through their galleries. Inspiration by art doesn’t help me as much as music, movies, and books, however.

Inspiration by books. The Redwall series, by Brian Jacques, Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis) Inkheart trilogy (Cornelia Funke) and Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling) are all inspiring and helpful. When I stopped reading for a while, my writing got a lot worse. Now that I’m starting to read more again, it’s getting better. Seeing the good reading flow, story, and strong characters helps more than one would think.

As you can see, there are a lot of different places one can draw inspiration from. So now, again, I ask you, what inspires YOU? Remember to seek out the inspiration, and work, even if it’s hard. Inspiration will come, just don’t wait on it. I wish all of you good luck in any work you need to do, and I hope that inspiration and the will to do it comes to you.

I’ll probably end up with another superheroes post next week, and my second writing guide will be coming out soon ^^ Almost done with it! :} Also, what should I review? I have some ideas, but still nothing positive ><

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

