RooView: The Hunger Games (Movie)

Greetings!

The Hunger Games was released in theaters earlier this year, but I didn’t see it until it came out on DVD a few days ago. I viewed it with very little knowledge of what to expect, due to me not reading the books prior to seeing it, and I can say that I was quite entertained by it, and ended up liking it.

The premise of the movie is, as the title states, the Hunger Games. These games are an event where two people between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen at random from each of the twelve districts. They are then briefly trained and thrown into an arena where they must fight to the death. The movie takes place in the 74th annual event.

Katniss Everdeen was a good protagonist. Unlike many other main characters, she wasn’t very talkative, rather keeping to herself instead. He intelligence and skill with a bow made her actions interesting to watch, and her interactions with other characters were, for the most part, believable. The other characters were also fairly believable and rather well-made. You connected with them, and, by the end of the movie, found yourself liking them quite a bit.

Katniss!

The story was also believable. Being set in the future, some interesting things were possible, such as spawning things into the arena. The government in charge of the games was decently corrupt, running them with bias towards certain competitors, and having the ability at their fingertips to help or hinder them as they wished. Their interference brought an extra element of the unexpected to the arenas.

The beginning of the movie did an excellent job of building up suspense and excitement for the Games themselves and built the characters very well before actually tossing them into the danger of the arena. By the time the games started, you already liked some of the characters.

Since I haven’t read the books, I can’t say if the story followed them closely, or was a huge screw up like other book-to-movie conversions have (sadly) ended up becoming. I plan to read the books soon, however, so we’ll see how that goes. From comments I’ve read about it, it seems like fans of the books liked the movie, which is always a good sign.

Also, a few things didn’t quite make sense to me, but perhaps the books clear it up. It seemed like Katniss grew attached to Rue rather quickly, and Cinna’s desire to help Katniss also seemed a little sudden. Seeing as how book-to-movie transitions force a lot of plot cutting usually, I wouldn’t be at all surprised if in the book that these two friendships had a bit more explanation behind their forming.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie and liked the characters. It helped perk my interest in the books a little more, and I plan to pick them up soon to find out more. I’m curious how the plot continues, and I thought they did an excellent job on this one. I rate it 8/10!

Thanks for reading!

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!
P.S. Rue was my favorite character. Then again, I’m biased towards her due to her name. Shhhh! :]

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RooView: The Hunger Games (Movie)

  1. Anne Kelly says:

    I’m about half way through the last book Mockingjay and love the whole series, I’ll be very sad to see it end. What makes the book very real to me, is that I just finished a book called Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide. The PBS show Independent Lens will have a related documentary airing early October, http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/half-the-sky/

    Reading Mockingjay after finishing Half the Sky, I’m convinced its the same message. How can people of privilege, such as us in the USA, ignore the plight of others suffering to provide us the luxuries we enjoy (gold, precious metals, electronics, clothes)? Well this isn’t the actual focus of the Half the Sky book, but the connection is stark to me. I am wondering if anyone has that connection?

    • Roo says:

      Hi! Sorry it took so long for me to reply to your comment

      I haven’t read any of the books yet, so I can’t particularly say how I see the message depicted there, but I agree. We shouldn’t be wasteful of what we have and disrespectful to other human beings. The solution to this isn’t “robin hooding” the riches and luxuries away as some people seem to think, but for the people with said luxuries to be responsible with them and be kind to other humans.

      Just my opinion on the matter :] Thanks for commenting! ❤

Leave a Reply

