A year in review and a year in anticipation

Greetings!

Firstly, it’s Roomble’s first birthday! Hooray! ^^

2012 was a strange year. Like any other, it had its ups and downs, but I am very pleased to say that despite the struggles, I ended it on a high note. Roomble has been a very interesting experience, and a difficult practice in the discipline of doing something every week. At first, it was horrible. Not only was the posting sporadic, but the content was just…bleh. Reading what I thought was a good idea to post reminds me of how much I’ve changed in the space of just 366 days (yay for a leap year!). I’m finally starting to be satisfied with my blogging, now that I have a posting schedule I can stick to. It makes me feel pretty good to post two to three times a week consistently ^^

In drawing, I feel like I’ve improved a great deal. Not to pat myself on the back, but I can see improvement in my freehand sketches, and I’ve learned a lot. DeviantArt helps a good bit, because I feel bad when I don’t post for a while, but I do need a scanner for pencil =P I draw far better on paper!

Writing last year was difficult, and I struggled very hard several times, but I got myself to a point where is should be fairly smooth sailing from here on out… at least until the rough drafts of two of my books are done. Seems like my goal for publishing time is still a very realistic hope ^^

Overall, even though many areas were hard to deal with and annoying to fight through, the wins of the year outweigh them, so I’d say I had a fairly decent year. 2012 wasn’t exactly my best, but it definitely wasn’t my worst, especially November and December. It helped me find what I need to do this year, and that is entirely worthwhile.

Now for 2013.

Like I said, I ended 2012 motivated and sure of my direction. Which means I started this year with the same thing =P I have strong goals of both long-term and short-term nature, and an even stronger motivation to reach them. By the end of the year, I plan to have my book (preferably both of my books, but one takes much higher precedence over the other) much closer to publishing. I want to be able to be looking for a publisher by next winter, and I will fight as hard as I must to get there. I’ll be keeping you updated on the progress ^^ I have a lot of plans and a lot of motivation to get there. I WILL get there. Failure is not an option…so in other words, giving up on my New Year’s goals before February is just not an option either =P

In this new year, just remember to focus on what’s important. Think about your end result, not the pain and struggle you have to go through to get there. If you focus on how bad it hurts, you’ll give up before a week is up. Find something that inspires you to greatness, and go see it and think about it whenever you find yourself losing your grasp on the fight. It could be a movie, book, picture, person, whatever works for you. Believe that you can do it, and you’ll find your way there.

For example, say you really want to lose weight. Don’t think about how fat you are now, think about how lovely it will be when you aren’t. Imagine yourself at your goal, and it will be a lot easier to get there.

I hope you all have a lovely 2013, and I wish you the best of luck and the highest form of motivation in accomplishing your goals.

Just remember…

“I can do this all day!” ~ Steve Rogers/Captain America

I watched the Avengers yesterday.

It was very inspiring.

^^

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A year in review and a year in anticipation

  1. Pingback: Roomble’s 2nd Birthday! | Roomble

Leave a Reply

