RooView: Ferret Puppet by Folkmanis

Pretty bad picture, but the best I could find. It looks way better in person, I swear!

It’s hard to find a good ferret plushie, but Folkmanis’ Ferret Puppet is pretty much perfect. I wasn’t sure about it, seeing as how it’s a puppet, but I am so glad I got it for Christmas.

Firstly, let’s go over looks. It definitely is unmistakable as a ferret. It’s face is the triangle ferret shape, with bright black eyes and a little pink nose. The fur is medium length and a tannish color mottled with darker choclatey brown. The legs are all fully the dark brown, and the tail is a bit on the lighter side, but it isn’t a glaring change from the body’s fur. (It may also be mine that has the lighter tail /shrug). The face is tan, with a dark brown bandit mask and a white muzzle and cream colored ears. The underside of all four paws is made of a somewhat fleshy colored material, with toes stitched in. The nose and inside of the mouth are made of the same material, which is a grayish pink and suede-like. The white on the face and back of the ears are made of the same material as each other. It’s short and fuzzy, and I’m not sure what it’s called, but it’s very soft and lovely ^^ The inside of the puppet pockets are lined with some weird, almost silky but not quite material. It’s not scratchy or uncomfortable in any way, so if you’re buying this ferret as a puppet, it’s fairly comfortable material to have your hand surrounded in. Also, the ferret’s face has the usual clear plasticy whiskers, around four on each side.

Secondly, the construction. It’s stuffed fairly floppily, but can pretty much stand without caving in. I say the floppiness is so you can have it do a ferret war dance without difficulty 😉 It’s very huggable and wonderful. The fur sheds a little bit more than I’d like, but after a week or two my ferret stopped, unless I shake her vigorously (which I don’t tend to do =P) When I unwrapped my ferret, I was really surprised with the size. I expected her to be a bit smaller, but it’s actually a very nice size. From chest to the end of the tail, it’s roughly 20 ½ inches. If you have the head held up, from the base of the foot to the top of the head is around 11 or 11 ½ inches, and from the bottom of the back feet to the top of the back is 6 ½ inches (ish). Luckily I didn’t want this ferret to be a puppet, because the pocket in the neck/head is a bit small for me. My hands aren’t really huge or anything, but they aren’t small either. If you have hands that are on the bigger side, you may want to look for a different puppet, because this one’s mouth area will probably be too small to move easily. For some reason, there is a second pocket between the back legs, probably for more movement, but it’s at a really awkward angle to use, if you have a hand in the front pocket. I’m really not sure how you’re supposed to use it. O.o My only other complaint with the construction is that the hand entrance for the front pocket being in-between the front legs makes them go out to the sides a little bit more, making it a bit harder to stand it up without dragging its chest on whatever it’s standing on. It’s not a huge problem, and isn’t that noticeable, either.

Overall, the Folkmanis Ferret Puppet as a puppet gets a 9/10 from me. It’s made out of good materials, and looks like a ferret (which is always a good thing when buying a ferret =P), but gets points off for weird gut pocket and front pocket in the front. As a regular stuffed animal, it gets a 10/10. All the good points for the puppet rating still apply, along with having a perfect stuffing level for huggling. Hooray for huggles! ^^

I don’t know how it holds up to washing, since I haven’t had to wash mine yet, but as with all stuffed animals, I’d just wipe it down with a damp cloth. I’m not sure if it’s machine washable, either. Sorry D=

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

P.S. Sorry I’ve been doing so many stuffed animal reviews lately =P I promise to do something else next time!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

