Quote of the Week #9

Greetings!

The Quote for the week is:

A novelist’s characters must be with him as he lies down to sleep, and as he wakes from his dreams. He must learn to hate them and to love them. ~ Anthony Trollopel

When you’re writing a book, your characters should never leave you be. If they constantly are nagging at you to let them out, then they’re doing just what they’re supposed to. I have characters I love, I have characters I highly dislike (for their personality. You know, the kind of person you’d want to avoid), and there are characters I love to hate. I have characters that I highly enjoy writing, but if I met in real life, I’d go the other direction. I have characters that I enjoy picking on far too much, and others that I vent through. All of them are milling about my mind every day and every night, invading my dreams and thoughts, whether I want them there or not.

You must know your characters inside and out and make sure they’re like a real person before you write them. Otherwise, they tend to be quite flat.

My characters have been nagging at me far more than usual recently. I’m really not sure if that’s a good or bad thing =P

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

 

 

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

