Books and things

Greetings!

I may very well have another post named this floating around somewhere, but I don’t remember and I’m too lazy to check at the moment.

Anyways, last month, I got back into reading a lot more. I borrowed quite a few books from the library, and I decided to do a sort of review post thingy. I won’t be going into depth on them, but I’ll give an abridged opinion 😉

These aren’t in order, since I don’t remember which I read first =P

https://i2.wp.com/www.vampires.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/vampirates.jpgVampirates: Demons of the Ocean by Justin Somper

I really enjoyed this book. It’s the first book in the children’s fantasy series, but it was fun, creative, and unique. I really want to read the rest of the series, but my library’s copy of book 2 is sadly extremely overdue 😦 The writing style was a bit strange at points, but overall, it didn’t take much away from the story or anything like that.

 

https://i1.wp.com/media.npr.org/assets/bakertaylor/covers/m/moby-dick/9780553213119_custom-6967beeca1bb45f778224fd949b93c8b3049f459-s6-c30.jpgMoby Dick by Herman Melville

Technically, I didn’t read this book last month. I finished it last month. As anyone who knows me probably knows, I think this book is absolutely terrible, and I highly don’t recommend it at all, ever. It’s torture to read, in my opinion.

 

 

 

https://i1.wp.com/i.neoseeker.com/boxshots/Qm9va3MvRmljdGlvbg==/the_edge_chronicles_beyond_the_deepwoods_frontcover_large_fN2pvgOFWKENOin.jpg

The Edge Chronicles: Beyond the Deepwoods and The Edge Chronicles: Stormchaser by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddel

Another children’s fantasy series, the edge Chronicles are craaaaaazy. They’re action packed and insanely fast paced, but pretty fun 🙂 The world https://i1.wp.com/lookingglassreview.com/assets/images/The_Edge_Chronicles_2.jpgthey’re in is amazing, and the illustrations (While a bit strange at times) bring it to life. The creatures are imaginative, and I really enjoyed the stories. I thought the second one was better than the first, and I’m working on the third one now, and it’s just as good as the second so far. If you’re looking for a strange, fun series, I’d definitely give these a shot 🙂

 

https://i1.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/6/60/Thieflordbookcover.jpg/200px-Thieflordbookcover.jpgThief Lord by Cornelia Funke

I had wanted to read this book for a while, but I hadn’t gotten around to it until last month. As I’m sure you know, I absolutely adore the Inkworld series by Funke, so I was excited to read more of her work. I thought that this book, while good, wasn’t as good as her others so far. I did enjoy it, though, and would happily read it again. It was a good story, with good characters.

 

https://i1.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1274650443l/7823592.jpgReckless and Fearlessby Cornelia Funke

These books. They were awesome. The story was amazing, and the characters were great. I was totally immersed in the https://p.gr-assets.com/200x200/scale/books/1350958027/15790807.jpgworld, and fell in love with it. They enchanted me nearly as much as Inkheart and its sequels did. I’m dying for the third book to come out, but since Fearless came out only last year, I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to wait a while 😦

 

 

https://i2.wp.com/img3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20121204102401/beyondrs/images/3/3e/Beyonders_cover_Final-1-.jpgBeyonders: A World without Heroes by Brandon Mull

I wanted to like this book, since it would have been great to find yet another awesome fantasy series. Like, I really wanted to like this book. Unfortunately, I didn’t. I didn’t like the main character, and the plot didn’t grab me right away. I barely made it to the third chapter before I gave up. Maybe it’s just because I had just finished Fearless, and this book following up something like that was poor timing, or maybe I don’t actually like it. I’d be willing to give it another shot in a few months, but for now, I’m going to say that I didn’t like it at all.

 

https://i1.wp.com/covers.booktopia.com.au/big/9780142406632/the-ruins-of-gorlan-usa-edition-.jpgRanger’s Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan

I really, really loved this book. I liked the main character, and I really liked his master (Halt, the ranger), and the story was good. I liked the writing style, and I couldn’t put this down. With what he set up, I wanted to know what else would happen when the book was over. I’m excited, since there’s, like, 11 more books or something like that. I grabbed the next three last time I was at the library, and I’m looking forward to getting into them once I’m done with the next Edge Chronicles. If you’re looking for a great young adult fantasy series, I highly recommend this. (Well, at least the first one =P I haven’t read the rest yet XD)

That was my book review post for March! I’ll post another one at the start of next month with all the books I’ve read in April. If you guys have any suggestions, feel free to comment about it (Or tweet me @RambleRoo), and I’ll take a look once I’m done with my current reading list 😀

Of course, all titles and book covers belong to their respective owners.

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

P.S. I’m really hoping all those pictures load.

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

