Perspective is Incredibly Powerful

Greetings!

Last night over dinner, my roommate’s stepdad mentioned how rain used to be regarded as good and such, and now, in the vast majority of things, it’s regarded as bad (“Don’t rain on my parade”, “Rain, rain, go away”, etc., along with most people seeing it as something severely limiting). Of course, some people (Myself included) still see rain as awesome, but the comment (Which might seem odd out of context) spurred my thoughts about other things that can change depending on opinion.

I chose Mondays to be my subject, so while the idea can apply to everything, this seemed like a decently simple one to get my point across with. We’ll see if I can execute my idea as well as I’d like =P

For the longest time, I’ve complained about Mondays. I’ll whine and gripe and drag about with the optimism of roadkill until the day is over. After that, since I was miserable for 24+ hours, my Tuesdays are generally fairly lacking as well.

However, if you actually step back and think about things, it’s all a matter of perspective.

On one hand, Mondays can suck. I’ve beaten this to death before (Maybe not here, I can’t quite remember. If I did, it was in my younger, much more angsty stage, which would have added an extra dose of negativity to the mix. Blech.), and dwelling on it isn’t the best idea, so I’ll be concise about it. You can look at them from the perspective that the weekend (i.e. days of freedom :D) are over for another five days, and it’s back to work as usual, perhaps with a nasty boss or unpleasant teacher or what have you. In short, it’s yucky.

On the other hand, Mondays can be great, or just be considered another day. Weekends shouldn’t be considered the holy grail of weekdays or anything like that, because incredible things aren’t confined to the calendar (Unless it’s a planned trip. That’s different =P). If you want to do something amazing, do it whether it’s Saturday, or Monday, or Wednesday or whenever. It doesn’t matter. Life is life, and it won’t hold off just because it’s the only weekday that starts with “M”. You have abundant opportunity no matter when it is. You just have to get up and go.

You can also look at Monday as a sort of miniature fresh start. While Sunday is technically the start of the week, I still think of the start being Monday. As such, I’m starting to enjoy them much more. If you had a crappy previous week, you have the opportunity to make this fresh, magnificent one absolutely incredible. Of course, you can do that any day, but I like order and things, like starting over at the start.

That isn’t to say bad days happen, because they do. Sometimes things just don’t go your way, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that you have an excuse to pour out hate and misery all over the day. That’s really not great.

Overall, I suppose what I’m trying to say is that if you’re having a bad day, step back and try to look at it from the flipside. There are good things everywhere; you just have to open your eyes to see them. You can apply this to everything, and if you do, life gets brighter. 🙂

Talk to you soon, and have an amazing week!

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

