Suns and words

Greetings!

I dragged myself out of bed at 5:00 in the morning to go on a run with my brother. After it got light enough to see without the neighbor’s porch lights, I realized that that was actually quite worth it and an excellent way to start this week. I think I’ll do it again tomorrow.

Normally, I get up at 6:30. Because of that, I get to catch the tail-end of the sunrise, which is quite visible at multiple points along my usual route. It’s a great thing to see right away, but today I got to see it from the very start today, and that was incredible. The sun is amazing. It’s a bit funny how we always regard the sky as just ‘the sky’, when it actually looks different every day. I mean, the exact same cloud layout and such probably won’t happen very often (Similar, yes, exact? Hmm, not quite so much). It’s one of my favorite things to just watch it in the early morning. It’s absolutely beautiful with all the colors that the sun throws across it.

Sunrises. They’re magical.

Let’s jump to the second half of that title 😀 Words are pretty magical, too. I was having a tough time scribbling out the skeleton draft of my second novel, and then the other day it just kind of…started happening. I’m really not sure what motivated my fingers and brain to start working together again, but it was great. I’m fairly certain that I won’t hit my goal of September 8th to have it finished, but it’ll be fairly close afterwards. After all, I don’t HAVE to have it done until October and all the fun Nanowrimo preparations start up. Whatever time I have between the end of this draft and the start of Nano will go towards editing Book 1. It’s incredibly exciting to be doing so much writing this year. I’ve done more actually good work this year than I’ve done in my entire life. It’s great.

It’s funny how much things can change in novels if you just let them. I mean, of course, pay attention to the original plans, but sometimes your characters act out of your order, and in their own personalities (Which is how it should be anyways =P). I can’t say that mine have messed anything up; rather, I think they’ve made everything better. It just takes slowing down for a minute and thinking about your situations from their perspectives. Sometimes they logically wouldn’t work out the way you originally wanted them to.

My second book isn’t quite what I expected, but much better, so that’s pretty cool.

I’m excited for life this morning.

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

