Beautiful People Linkup: September Edition!

Greetings!

I JUST heard about this “Beautiful People”, because if I had heard about it sooner, I would have been all over it. My characters are my favorite things to work on, so this should be fun 😀

Beautiful People is a blog chain/linkup thingy hosted by Cait over at Notebook Sisters and Sky at Further Up and Further In.

It’s basically ten questions to use to interrogate your characters 😀 Here’s the post (Cait’s one, anyways) with the questions in case you want to check it out for yourself ^^

Let’s get started! (Warning: I am absolutely TERRIBLE at making any sort of decent villains. I can make heroes easy, but villains? Pssshhhh. They’re BAD. A lot of the time, they’re cardboard people. I need to put way more effort into them.)

Today, I’ll be talking about Serin, my main villain in my main series. She’s an Ancient, which is an extremely powerful being that sort of watches over all the realms and such. Not a god, but pretty powerful. She’s also a very snazzy looking kirin.

1. What is their motive?

She wants the Ancients’ powers to be centralized on one being. She thinks it would make the world safer to have one supreme guardian rather than eight.
2. What do they want, and what are they prepared to do to get it?

Serin thinks that she’s best qualified for her idea, so she wants all the power of the Ancients for herself. She’s prepared to destroy whole realms and kill the other Ancients to do it. She would sacrifice most anything to make it happen.
3. How do they deal with conflict?

Destroy it, usually by sending minions out to do it. If it’s direct personal conflict, she just gets angry and blames the other people very heavily.
4. Describe their current place of residence.

She lives in the Shadowlands, a very dark and dreary place. It’s a rather depressing world, full of shadowy things and nasty monsters. It’s quite unpleasant, really.
5. If they were writing this story, how would it end?

The heroes would either be converted to her side or die trying, and she would become the all-powerful Ancient.
6. What habits, speech patterns, etc. are unique to them?

To be honest, I haven’t written her actually talking to someone physically for a while. I don’t remember. (I’m pathetic D= )
7. How do they show love? What do they like to do with/for people they love?

She shows love by spending time with the people she loves. She uses (Used, rather. She doesn’t really love too many people anymore) her magic to give them things that they want or do things with them that they want to do. She wants to keep them safe.
8. Do they have any pets?

Nope. Minions, though? Yes.
9. Where would they go to relax/think?

Her castle. It’s away from all her smelly minions and full of luxuries she doesn’t need.
10. What is their weapon of choice? (FYI: words, eyes/looks, and fists count as weapons too.)

She uses what magic she has left and shapeshifts into more physically dangerous things. She also likes manipulating people and sending her minions out to crush them instead of getting her hooves dirty.

My villains are horrid :O Trust me, this would be a LOT better if I was doing questions about one of my good guys =P

Talk to you soon!

-Roo!

P.S. The picture below this doesn’t work as a link, because I couldn’t figure out how to do that =P If you want to join and do one of these for your villains, just use the links at the start of this post 🙂

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beautiful People Linkup: September Edition!

  1. Just from what I read here, your story sounds really interesting!!! 😀 It’s sounds like it’s set in a really cool world!

  2. Becca says:

    *waves* Hi, I found you through the beautiful people link up! I don’t think this villain sounds like a ‘cardboard person’ – she sounds like she’s got an interesting background. I’ve had a quick look at a few of your other posts – I like your one on cookie-cutter characters, and you’ve got some good tips there too. 🙂

  3. I like the way this villian has the seemingly good motive of “keeping everybody safe” which sets her up as a particularly bad (and well-written) villain. That’s well done. I like that.

  4. Rachel W says:

    I’m fairly bad at fleshing out characters, myself, so I don’t find your characters (well, I’ve only read about this one so far, so characteR) cardboard at all! Hehe. Maybe we’re too hard on ourselves? Love your post! 😀

Leave a Reply

