I run out of topics a lot

Greetings!

Most of the time, when Monday rolls around, I don’t know what to write about. I scribble about and scrounge for words in unused corners of my mind and eventually come up with something. Today is not one of those days. Today is one of those days where I just start writing and figure it out as I go.

Speaking of writing and figuring out as I go, revising a book is hard. I have no idea what I’m doing. On the bright side, I’m having loads of fun with it. Everything seems brighter (or darker, as the case may be) and more…adventurous. When I started to expand my skeleton draft into something bigger and closer to the final one, it started to feel how I always wanted it to. It feels more like a fantastic (and mildly terrifying) adventure instead of the brain-spew of my dumb younger self. I’m really hoping I’m pulling off this revising thing right. I suppose we’ll see in a little while. I’m working to have my next draft done by the end of October, if I can. Luckily for me, I work faster and better when I’m thrilled with my story. I have a few mini roadblocks partway through in the planning/expanding process, but I’m cruising along pretty well right now and hopefully by the time I’ll get there, I’ll have built up enough velocity to bust right through them. That would be cool.

I kind of want to do some character spotlights or something of that sort (about my characters, not other people’s =P) every once in a while. A little bit ago, I remembered just how much I enjoy rambling about all my little word-people. Nothing is more exciting than watching them leap off the page and become their own creatures. I’m not sure if anyone else would enjoy my ramblings as much as I would, but I suppose I’ll just have to toss a few out there and see what happens. I just have to decide what poor characters would end up being the cannon fodder for the first attempts. It wouldn’t be a blog chain or anything of the sort, just a personal project for fun. I just like to talk sometimes, and having prepared topics helps me with blog posts. Otherwise I end up with things like this.

I started to also consider posting short stories or writing exercises or little scenes here every little bit. I’ve found that if I start getting writers’ block, it helps to go do a few short writing exercises off of prompts to get some fresh ideas going. Usually that works out pretty well, and I thought it might be fun to post some of them. You know, if they’re any good =P

Also, I just panicked for a second there, because I accidentally clicked a link on the WordPress post editor and went to a new page and thought I had lost all of this post. I really didn’t want to have to rewrite the whole thing. That would have kind of sucked. Anyways, it’s obviously all okay! 😀 First draft of this post, unedited and in its original form. Woot!

I should go write. I was working on fixing up my introduction yesterday and left my characters freshly hucked out of a portal, and one of them is very confused and distressed. One of the others is worried that his friends don’t like the world he found. I should go help the poor fellow.

Talk to you soon, and happy writing!

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

