Beautiful Books #1: Plot yo’ face

Greetings!

Cait @ Notebook Sisters and Sky @ Further Up and Further In,who usually run the Beautiful People linkup, started a special three-month linkup called Beautiful Books, centered around Nanowrimo πŸ˜€ This month focuses on plotting, hence my snazzy title.

Onward! πŸ˜€ This also made me realize that I’ve got quite a bit of planning left to do on my Nano novel, but since I wasn’t planning to do it for another week or so, I’m okay with that =P

This novel was sparked by remembering that I used to pretend to be John Wayne when I was really little, and I loved westerns for some reason. I should watch some again sometime.

1. What came first: characters or plot idea? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Characters, definitely. The vague plot came the next morning =P I used to be a pantser all the way, then I got to be a mega plotter, but now I’m about half and half, since I get bored with too much plotting XD

2. Do you have a title and/or a β€œback-cover-blurb”?

The title will probably be Shivering. I don’t have a blurb yet, but I DO have a special little thing that will be at the start of the book πŸ˜€ It concerns Skinwalkers, the main villains.

A shivering, a shaking, a gnashing of teeth,

Hides upon shoulders, changing beneath,

Shifting bones and glimmering eyes,

Vicious heart in a wild disguise.

Death comes quickly, the price they pay,

The hide seeks life that was taken away,

Claws dig deep in flesh their own,

Muscles in shapes they ought not know.

A screaming, a suffering, a raking of claws,

A shifting, a breaking of all nature’s laws,

Magic flows where blood should be,

Fur consumes by slow degrees.

Misery comes to the thief that kills,

A bite begins what ends in chills,

Cold hide shelters a fleeting ghost,

Selfishly smothering its shifting host.

A shivering, a shaking, a gnashing of teeth,

Hides fall away, bones fade beneath,

Wrack and ruin from the stealing of life,

Powers held worthy despite hateful strife.

3. What wordcount are you aiming for when your novel is finished?

However many words it takes for the story to be told πŸ˜‰

4. Sum up your novel in 3 sentences.

A grizzled cowboy (Joseph Eliot) must defend his town and friends from a group of marauding Skinwalkers. The town blames a local tribe (Old Joe’s friends), mistaking Skinwalkers for them, and the tribe blames Old Joe for the town turning on them. He has to straighten that mess out before the Skinwalkers destroy both parties.

5. Sum up your characters in one word each.

All of them? D: I’ll do a few of them. My main villain doesn’t have a name yet, so I’ll ignore him for now. Old Joe: Cowboy | Deyani:Adventurous |Cassandra Bloodfen: Outlaw (Or Liar, I’m not sure =P) | Mortimer Smith: Preacher | Oatsie: Snarky | Villain: Unknown (I’ll probably update this later. Or not. I might forget.)

6. Which character are you most excited to write? Tell us about them!

Honestly, probably Oatsie (Or Oatsy. Can’t decide on spelling). He’s Old Joe’s young horse, but he had a little mishap and ended up being enchanted. Now, he can telepathically talk to Joe, but no one else. He’s snarky, impatient, and has no problem with disregarding Joe’s orders and doing his own thing. He hates saddles and bridles, and makes sure to let Joe know.

7. What about your villain? Who is he, what is his goal?

I don’t know all the way yet! D: He’s a bit…amorphous at the moment. All I know is that he’s the leader of the Skinwalkers and very vengeful over something or other, which makes him want to take out the town.

8. What is your protagonist’s goal? And what stands in the way?

Old Joe wants to defend both the town and the tribe, but their anger, his roughness, and his impatience get in the way. Also, he’s basically out for just things like truth and justice and fabulous things like that.

9. What inciting incident begins your protagonist’s journey?

Skinwalkers attacking an outlying farm/ranch thingy and returning to the place the town is.

10. Where is your novel set?

At the core, a fantasy world. I mean, Joe has a talking horse, and there’s plenty of other magic floating around. On the surface, it’s basically a western. Towns. Saloons. Mines. Trains. The usual.

11. What are three big scenes in your novel that change the game completely?

Now why would I spoil that? πŸ˜‰

12. What is the most dynamic relationship your character has? Who else do they come in contact with or become close to during the story?

Personally, I’m a big fan of Old Joe and Oatsie (Gruff older fellow and a sassy young horse), but Joe and Cassandra, the outlaw, come a close second. He’s all about doing the right thing and she’s about lying, cheating, and thievery. He hates her guts and she finds it funny. Joe gets closer to Deyani, and there’s someone else that I can’t talk about right now =P

13. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Hopefully he’s a touch more patient and a bit more humble. That’s what I’m going for, anyways. We’ll see what he wants to do.

14. Do you have an ending in mind, or do you plan to see what happens?

Oh, yes! The ending is very definite πŸ˜€ I’m really excited about it ^^

15. What are your hopes and dreams for your book? What impressions are you hoping this novel will leave on your readers and yourself?

Hmm…getting it published would be nice πŸ˜‰ I’m hoping for it to leave some good adventurous feelings (Those are the best!), some suspense for the next one, and (My biggest hope) the idea that it’s important to do the right thing, even if no one believes you or if they blame you for the bad thing. You can’t get caught up in trying to clear your own name that you ignore all the other things that you could be making better. In the end, it’s all about the other people, after all. (Doing the right thing seems to be a big theme in most of my novels O.o Better than some themes, I suppose?)

This was so much fun! πŸ˜€ If you’re doing Nanowrimo, or simply have a fun WiP going, I would highly recommend heading over to either Cait or Sky’s blog and doing it yourself, along with putting a link in the linky so other people can see it πŸ™‚
Click the pretty picture below to head over to Cait’s post πŸ˜€

Talk to you soon, and good writing!

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Beautiful Books #1: Plot yo’ face

  1. Jaime H. says:

    Heyyy (found you via link-up though I have yet to post mine)

    I have to say your “special little thing” for the beginning of the book about Skinwalkers: super cool, super chilling, wow! that’s awesome.

    And Cowboys in a fantasy-like world?! Way awesome! πŸ™‚ This sounds exciting. Hope the writing goes well for you

    πŸ˜€

    • Roo says:

      Hi! πŸ˜€ Thank you so much ^^ I’m excited to write it πŸ™‚

      I hope writing goes magnificently for you as well! πŸ˜€ Nanowrimo can be a bit intimidating sometimes =P

  2. Cait says:

    A fantasy western?! THAT IS SO COOL! I’ve only read one book like that and I really loved it and would totally read more! I’m glad you liked the questions. ^-^ Villains can be a bit hard, sometimes, right?! Gosh my villain needs work. Also because he’s kind of the protagonist. *gulps* LOTS of work. hehe.
    Thanks for linking up with us!!

    • Roo says:

      Well, hopefully you’ll be able to read this one soon(ish?) πŸ˜‰ Making good villains is a ridiculously daunting task :O Definitely a lot of work.
      I’m looking forward to next month’s questions πŸ˜€

  3. Renee says:

    Roo! When you commented I totally didn’t realize it was you! You are the one from the Christian teens forum, right?XD Your story sounds amazing!!! Oatsie sounds hilarious!XD

    • Roo says:

      It is indeed me!! πŸ˜€ I’ll be back on the forums in a few days, too ^^
      Thank you! I’m looking forward to writing that little horse XD

  4. Skinwalkers? Like shapeshifters?

    But I do love that mention of cowboys. You make it sound like a fantasy/western/cowboy kind of book. (With poetry???)

    Good luck on NaNoWriMo!

    • Roo says:

      Yes! πŸ˜€ Skinwalkers are (To the best of my knowledge) a form of Native American shapeshifter/shaman-y people ^^
      Fantasy/western/cowboy is what I’m going for =P

  5. Wow a fantasy western? That sounds really cool. I’ve never read a western but I would definitely consider reading a fantasy western. Your “special little thing” is really intriguing, it reminds me of this book called The Devouring, not in plot, but in the ominous creepy poem/chant thing. Obviously I am explaining it very well. =)

    I hope you have a good NaNo! My post isn’t up yet, but I am super excited about the new direction of Beautfiul People for the next three months! =)

    • Roo says:

      Thank you! πŸ˜€ I just looked up The Devouring, and I can see what you mean ^^ Now I’m a bit curious about that book, too =P

      I’m so happy with what Cait and Sky did for Beautiful People (Er, books =P) I’m excited to read all the entries πŸ˜€

  6. elyjayne says:

    Your books sounds amazing, and really, really intense! I bet it’s going to be lots of fun to write πŸ˜€

    Good luck with NaNo!!!

  7. Ashana Lian says:

    Hiya! I found this post from the linkup. It’s cool to see everybody getting ready for NaNoWriMo!

    “I get bored with too much plotting” – LOL me too. I like to do the characters first as well. That horse, Oatsie, DOES sound like a fun character to write! (an impatient horse sounds very fitting to me.) Skinwalkers is an amazing name for villains! It took me ages to come up with my own name for my creepy creatures, but I think I’m getting better with names.
    “At the core, a fantasy world.” – WHOOO!! Perfect, I love fantasy. I’d better remember to come back! Great post.

    • Roo says:

      Hi! I know πŸ˜€ I love seeing all the special posts and linkups and things this month!
      Names are the worst D: I’m always soooo slooooooooowwww with them XD
      I love fantasy! I have trouble writing things that don’t have a bit of magic in them πŸ˜›
      Thank you so much for dropping by! πŸ˜€

  8. Anne says:

    This makes me think of Cowboys and Aliens, which I really liked (Daniel Craig, yess). This sounds quite fun, especially Oatsy the horse — I could imagine a lot of shenanigans from being able to hear your horse.

    • Roo says:

      I loved that movie!!! πŸ˜€ I’m really looking forward to writing him (Well, everything, but, y’know, telepathic horse!). I’d imagine he whines about saddles/bridles πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

