Surviving Nanowrimo

Greetings!

Nanowrimo started on Saturday, and I’m actually planning to keep up this year. The graph of day-to-day wordcount from last year is a bit pathetic. I kind of wrote in spurts and had a couple plateaus where I missed a few days. I also got incredibly irritable to the people I live with (Oops. I love you people!).

This year, I’m not going to do that. This year, I have a survival plan. Yes, yes, I know, I should have posted this BEFORE November, but I didn’t, so here it is 😛

1) Do it with someone (or multiple someones, in my case).

Honestly, it’s helpful (and surprisingly easier) to be doing it with a few people. If any of us get stuck, we can talk to the others, and we can encourage each other. It’s also motivating to see them writing and their wordcount skyrocketing…it makes me want to go scribble up more of my novel 🙂 Besides all that, they can help me get back to my computer and type when I really don’t want to do it. Plus, we can share snacks. What’s better than all that?

2) Actually SCHEDULE time for writing.

Don’t just put “write” on your to-do list for the day. Actually write down when you’re going to do it. It’s a lot easier to get done if there’s some time carved out of the day to do it. Otherwise, it’s easy to just say “I’ll get to it later”, and never do it.

3) Write every day.

This one should be a bit of a no-brainer, but I needed to say it anyways, because I didn’t do it last year. Like I said at the start of the post, I would hit plateaus where I wouldn’t write for a couple days, and that killed me. While I still won, it was at the really crappy cost of melting my face off trying to catch up a couple times and straining my hands again (I messed up my wrists a few years ago because I was extra dumb, and so much frenzied typing wasn’t good for them last November), along with having a nasty attitude towards people. It’s a much better idea to write every day in small doses rather than every couple days in massive doses.

4) If I DO get behind, fix it ASAP

When I get behind, I have a tendency to get intimidated by the mound of extra work and let it get bigger while I cower. If I miss some words one day, I’m going to fix it the next day (Or that night, if I can) to keep it from getting too bad. Word wars are an excellent way to catch up or get ahead, and I’m sure I’ll be utilizing that in a week or so when I get farther into my novel. Also, the Nanowrimo forums are fantabulous, both for finding cool people and getting some motivation/help if you need it.

5) Get up. Move around. Exercise. Also, don’t forsake water.

Sitting all stagnantly at my desk for extended periods of time isn’t really what I want to do anymore (I was a desk blob for most of my youth D: ), so I’m going to make sure to take breaks and go for walks or something if I have a particularly long writing session. Drinking water is important business as well.

That’s all I can think of for now, and I have 1,667 words to get done today 🙂 All through November, I’m hoping to have special Saturday posts to share progress reports and maybe even an excerpt once in a while 😀 I’m planning to get the page up for my Nanowrimo novel this week, since I forgot about it last month.

Anyways, I best be off to do day things.

Talk to you soon, and happy noveling! (Smiles? 😀 )

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surviving Nanowrimo

  1. That’s a lot to write! Many lucks!

  2. Good luck with NaNo! I agree that writing every day and catching up if you fall behind ASAP are both essential to writing 50k in one month. One day of not writing can lead you to fall behind in your daily writing habit, which can just spiral out of control and quickly turn into five days of not writing. Also, staying healthy is very important. Luckily, I have cross country practice 6 days/week so I won’t be sitting at my desk the whole month.

    • Roo says:

      Thank you! Missing a day really makes it hard to drag yourself back to the desk 😛

      Staying healthy is sooooo important! I try to make myself get up after every 45 minutes or so of writing and walk around, and it really helps. Not only do you feel better physically, but it’s nice to get a quick break once in a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

