Nothing quite like being inspired

Greetings!

I’ve been really struggling with my book recently. I wanted to write farther along in the story, but I was super under-motivated for writing the part that I’m at (Which is the beginning of the series, so, y’know, it’s kinda super crucial to the whole thing).

I was writing for about an hour a day for the first little bit of summer, but then last week I was sick and didn’t want to have anything to do with work, really, so I stopped. I had made quite a bit of progress before last week, though, so that was pretty cool, but not quite enough to get me going again after I stopped being sick. Yesterday, though, I think I started again.

I decided to just sit down and look over all of my notes and stuff, even though I really didn’t want to. I started flipping through all the documents on my computer and skimming through them, beginning with a highly negative bias towards my book. I tend to just get discouraged and all bleh towards it sometimes, and I’ve been tempted to quit it several times, and I was in that sort of mindset yesterday. After reading through all my notes though, I realized just why it is that I can’t quit, and I re-realized how much it actually means to me. I’ve been sort of thinking about everything that I looked over all last night and this morning, and it’s been pretty awesome.

In short, I fell in love with my characters all over again. I remembered who they are and why I care, and I remembered the core of my story again. I rediscovered the meaning, the message, and the reasons for my story, and it was fantastic.

I’ve always loved chivalrous knights and valiant quests, heroism and adventure, discovered courage and the difficult rise of a character. I love stories that leave you thinking of incredible things and inspire you to greatness. There’s nothing better. I want my book (Books, I suppose) to be like that,and I know that it will take a lot of focus and refining, but when it gets there, I know that it will be so very worth it all. Sometimes that can be kind of hard to remember when I’ve either been working too hard or not enough.

I also watched Gladiator again yesterday, and that’s one of those fantastic movies that sets my mind going down the path of excellent stories. It’s amazing.

There’s nothing like the feeling of being inspired again. Nothing quite like having my stories go crazy in a good way. Nothing like actually wanting to write for the first time in a long while. I love it.

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

