Nooooovember

Greetings!

It keeps throwing me off that this year is going by so quickly. For example, when I got the email saying that the Nanowrimo site was up and kicking for this year, I was like “Whaaaa?!” Totally blew my mind right there.

Aaaaanyways.

October is already almost a third of the way gone (Not okay. I’m still dressing like it’s August. Rain please?), and I haven’t really given Nanowrimo this year much thought. Well…that’s probably just because I didn’t know it was here yet 😉

I have a few thoughts for what I want to write this year (Because my participation definitely isn’t the thing in question!), and I haven’t really decided on what to do yet. I’ll either be doing a 20’s-style detective novel (With foxes!), a major redo of my steampunk gladiator story, or my main fantasy novel. I considered redoing my 2013 NaNo novel (Dear Forsaken), but it’s such a mangled mess (Like Sirius. Hurrhurr. Ahem. Never mind. That was an awful joke that only makes sense for people who know the main character of that book 😐 ) and I don’t really want to bother with it quite yet. Someday, definitely, because I still love it a lot, but just not this time around.

I’ve wanted to do the detective novel for a long while now, and it was my definite decision for this year’s NaNo, but now I’m kind of reconsidering. It would be first person, which is very unusual for me, and a mystery, which is also something I’ve never done. I’m still leaning heavily towards it, but it would need a lot of prep-work this month.

My steampunk gladiator story is just yes. I love it, and I’ve gotten a ton more ideas for it over the years to clean it up from the weak-plotted story that I wrote back forever ago. Now there’s sky pirates and shapeshifters (Well, more shapeshifters), and cleaned up tie-ins to other stories. It would also take some prep-work, but I’ve been wanting to rewrite it and actually do it justice for a long while now.

My main fantasy novel is on its millionth revision, I’m pretty sure. Not really, but close. It’s dear to my heart, but it’s another tangled mess of ideas that I need to sort out. I’ve been working on it more since school started again, and I’ve gotten a lot more fixed up, which is great. I feel sort of obligated to put it on the list of possibilities, because I would still love for it to be the first book I publish 😉 Sometimes I feel crazy burnt out on it, though.

I’m hoping to narrow those three down into the winner in the next few days, and then use the rest of the month for prep and exciting stuff like that. I’m excited 😀

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

P.S. I’d probably try to use the forums again this year, like I did my first year, but with school and other work things, I don’t know how much I’d be able to hop on and chat. Private messages are great, though! I’ll definitely respond to those 😉 My username is Captain Roo, and I’m pretty sure my profile pic is Captain America at the moment. Maybe not. I’ll be changing it when November hits, though (Probably to match whatever my novel ends up being 😀 )

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

