This month.

Greetings!

The title should be “last month”. Or last little bit, I suppose.

This year has been a challenge. I think I’ve mentioned it some, but not really gone into much detail. So…I guess that’s what I’m doing here šŸ˜‰

Let’s back the truck up a bit, first off. Last year was crazy. I know for a fact that I came out of it a different person than I went into it, hopefully in a good way. I at least feel like it was in a good way, on this side of it all, so that’s good? šŸ˜› I felt like I grew a lot, both mentally and physically, and at the end of it, I was excited and pretty tired, too.

This year has been kind of hard. I’ve had a really funky transition from being a kid to adulthood (Though from what I hear, that’s a pretty common thought about it šŸ˜› ), and I feel like it’s really taken some leaps recently, which is both terrifying and exciting.

A few weeks ago, I got the opportunity to go to Mexicali on a mission trip with my church, and it was the best week I’ve ever had in my life. It was hard, for the first few days, because while I was with people I knew, I was in a situation so different from anything I had ever experienced that I was just kind of grumpy the first night. I stressed out majorly the next day, because I’m usually the kind of person who likes knowing what’s going on, time-wise, with everything all neat and scheduled. Mexico isn’t really like that at all.

We had a VBS curriculum all planned out, but after the very first day of trying it out, we had to throw it out (mostly) because the kids down there don’t respond to things the same way kids at home do. It was challenging to learn to be super flexible with literally everything while I was there. It was a hard struggle to overcome, and a few days in I felt like I was doing a lot better. I was really happy, and much more flexible than I ever am at home.

I got to hang out with a bunch of super awesome construction guys and learn a ton about electrical work, which was awesome (And I can fix some broken lights in my house, so that’s a super plus! šŸ˜› )

Through the week, I learned that getting out of your comfort zone isn’t nearly as terrifying as we make it out to be, especially if we’re doing it in the company of awesome people. Secondly, being flexible is important, and you still totally get stuff done. Every single second doesn’t need to be meticulously planned out. Thirdly, people are incredible. I made some pretty great friends and talked to a lot of people who I never would have gone out of my way to talk to before. You can really make friends in the most unlikely places, and they’re one of the best kinds of friends šŸ˜‰ Fourth, God makes things work out for the best. There were so many things that went amazingly well that we couldn’t have planned if we tried, and even the bad stuff that happened turned out so well.

The biggest challenge (How many times am I going to say that word? :O ) came when I got home, though. Being back in a familiar place and situation made it very easy to slip back into old habits. I easily let it slide the first bit after coming home, but now I’m trying to remember those lessons (and others) and apply them. It’s tough, and I know from that experience that it’s worth it in the end, so I keep on trying.

I think one of the most important things that I’ve learned in the past year (Year and a half-ish, I think) is that sometimes the hardest situations to get through are the most rewarding and most important in maturing and growing into a better person (For lack of a better term šŸ˜‰ ). I hope I never stop growing, learning, and changing. There’s too much in life to just stop moving.

Life is good, even when it feels like it isn’t šŸ™‚

Talk to you soon,

-Roo!

About Roo

Hi! :D I love books, dragons, fluffy things, and doing cool stuff ^^ Talking to people is awesome. There's more about me in my "Who runs this thing" tab on my blog :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

